Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In

Become a Member

Get access to more than 30 brands, premium video, exclusive content, events, mapping, and more.

Already have an account? Sign In



Indonesian Phenom Smashes Speed Record at World Cup in Salt Lake City. John Brosler and Emma Hunt Set New American Records

New World and US records set. The 2021 Speed World Cup season is off to a helluva good start.

Heading out the door? Read this article on the new Outside+ app available now on iOS devices for members! Download the app.

The first Speed World Cup of the season kicked off this morning in Salt Lake City, Utah, with a qualifying round. In the most electrifying moment of the competition, Indonesia’s speed climbing phenom Kiromal Katibin broke the previous men’s world record by approximately 0.22 seconds. Katibin’s new world record—5.258 seconds—was set during a run against American Darren Skolnik in the very first heat of the round. 

Katibin’s world record performance enlivened the crowd, but it was far from the only heart-pounding moment. American John Brosler also made history in the men’s division by setting a new American national record—5.606 seconds, bettering his own previous American record by 0.014 seconds, in a heat against Japan’s Munekazu Kitami. 

Both Katibin and Brosler will advance to the World Cup event’s speed climbing final round, to be contested this evening. A full list of qualification places (and the 16 finalists who will compete tonight) is below. 

In the women’s division, American Emma Hunt also bettered her own American national record. Hunt set a new record of 7.525 seconds in a blazing heat against France’s Capucine Viglione. The overall standout of the women’s division was Poland’s Aleksandra Miroslaw, who won both her qualifying heats and finished the round in first place.

What to watch for in the final round: Kiromal Katibin’s Indonesian teammate, Leonardo Veddriq, also clocked a jaw-dropping time—5.375 seconds—in the qualification round. Anticipation is building that either one of them could break the newly established men’s world record yet again tonight. 


Men’s Results:

  1. Kiromal Katibin (INA)
  2. Veddriq Leonardo (INA)
  3. John Brosler (USA)
  4. Marcin Dzienski (POL)
  5. Kostiantyn Pavlenko (UKR)
  6. Carlos Granja (ECU)
  7. Gian Luca Zodda (ITA)
  8. Ludovico Fossali (ITA)
  9. Pierre Rebreyend (FRA)
  10. Yaroslav Tkach (UKR)
  11. Merritt Ernsberger (USA)
  12. Jun Yasukawa (JPN)
  13. Michael Finn-Hinry (USA)
  14. Mickael Mawem (FRA)
  15. Linus Bader (GER)
  16. Guillaume Moro (FRA)

Women’s Results:

  1. Aleksandra Miroslaw (POL)
  2. Emma Hunt (USA)
  3. Natalia Kalucka (POL)
  4. Capucine Viglione (FRA)
  5. Patrycja Chudziak (POL)
  6. Franziska Ritta (GER)
  7. Janja Garnbret (SLO)
  8. Kyra Condie (USA)
  9. Anouck Jaubert (FRA)
  10. Alexandra Elmer (AUT)
  11. Miho Nonaka (JPN)
  12. Tetiana Kolkotina (UKR)
  13. Callie Close (USA)
  14. Laura Stockler (AUT)
  15. Akiyo Noguchi (JPN)
  16. Brooke Raboutou (USA)


Feature image by Daniel Gajda